Association of Applied Biologists
AAB - President
Who's Who - List of AAB Officers and Conveners

Charity Commission guidelines for AAB Trusteeship


Officers of Council have been elected to administer the efficient running of the Association. They adhere to Working Rules with each of the Council members have specific roles.  These roles are also shown by task area.

AAB Executive Members

Christine Watson

Professor of Agricultural Systems at Scotland's Rural College (SRUC)


Tel: 01224 711 143; Fax: 01224 711 293



President Elect:

Stuart Knight BSc

Deputy Director of NIAB, Cambridge, CB3 0LE 


Tel: 01223 342290




General Secretary:
Martin Parry BSc, MSc, PhD, DIC
Lancaster Environment Centre, University of Lancaster, Lancaster, LA1 4YQ


General Treasurer:

Andy Page FCMA
c/o AAB Office, Warwick Enterprise Park, Wellesbourne, Warwick, CV35 9EF


Publications Officer:
Roy Kennedy

Warwickshire College, Pershore College, AvonBank, Pershore, Warwickshire, UK
Tel: 0300 456 0047


Conference Treasurer:
Richard Glass BSc, PgDip

Eurofins Agroscience Services, Melbourne, Derbyshire


Tel: 01332 864800 Fax: 01332 864726


Programme Secretary:
Nigel Halford BSc, MSc, PhD

Rothamsted Research, Harpenden, Herts AL5 2JQ 


Tel: 01582 763133; Fax: 01582 763010 


Group Conveners
Applied Mycology & Bacteriology:

Dr Tim Pettitt

University of Worcester, Institute of Science and the Environment, WR2 6AJ


Tel: 01905 542643




Biological Control and IPM Group:

Toby Bruce BSc, MSc, PhD

Prof of Insect Chemical Ecology

School of Life Sciences, Keele University, Staffordshire, ST5 5BG, UK.

Tel: +44 (0)1782 733673




Cropping And The Environment:

Rob Carlton BSc PhD

Carlton Consultancy 

Carlton Consultancy, Den Duiver 17, B-9840 De Pinte, Belgium.


Tel: +32 922 240 58.  


Food Systems:

Dr Wendy Russell BSc, PhD
The University of Aberdeen, Kings College, AB24 3FX

Tel: +44 (0)1224 438777



Matthew Back

Harper Adams University, Newport, Shropshire, TF10 8NB


Tel: 01952 815361 Fax: 01952 814783



Pesticide Application:

Professor Paul Miller

Silsoe Spray Applications Unit (Part of The Arable Group) Building 42, Wrest Park, Silsoe, Bedford, MK45 4HP


Tel: 01525 862995 Ext: 100 


Plant Physiology and Crop Improvement:

Dr Guy Barker BSc, PhD

School of Life Sciences, University of Warwick, Wellesbourne Campus
CV35 9EF


Tel: 024 7657 5135




Dr Maruthi M N Gowda 

University of Greenwich, Natural Resources Institute, Central Avenue, Chantham Maritime, Kent, ME4 4TB


Tel: 01634 883957 Fax: 01634 883386


Consider joining the AAB