About The AAB

 

The AAB is an international professional society for all those working, studying or interested in applied biology.​ The association was founded in 1904 and is a registered charity (No. 275655).

member login

renew / join

The AAB Mission

“To promote the study and advancement of all branches of Biology and in particular (but without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing), to foster the practice, growth and development of applied biology, with a focus on the application of biological sciences in the production of food, materials and energy, and for the maintenance and improvement of earth’s environment”

We deliver our charitable mission through the publication of scientific journals in applied biology, the organisation of conferences in a range of related subject themes, the formulation and dissemination of policies to promote the discipline, the production of a newsletter and the provision of services for members.

Who’s Who?

AAB Executive Council Members have been elected to administer the efficient running of the Association.

Christine Foyer PhD

Christine Foyer PhD

President

School of Biosciences, University of Birmingham, Birmingham, B15 2TT, UK.

C.H.Foyer@bham.ac.uk 

Tel: +44 (0) 113 343 1421

Mike Gooding PhD

Mike Gooding PhD

President Elect

AAB Office, Warwick Enterprise Park, Wellesbourne CV35 9EF, UK

mike.j.gooding@btinternet.com

Tel: +44 (0) 247 699 9486

Nigel Halford PhD

Nigel Halford PhD

Honorary Treasurer

Rothamsted Research, Harpenden, Herts AL5 2JQ.

Nigel.Halford@rothamsted.ac.uk 

Tel: +44 (0) 158 276 3133

Guy Barker PhD

Guy Barker PhD

General Secretary

School of Life Sciences, University of Warwick, Coventry, CV4 7AL

Guy.Barker@warwick.ac.uk 

Tel: +44 (0) 247 657 5135

Richard Glass BSc, PgDip

Richard Glass BSc, PgDip

Conferences Treasurer

Crop Health & Protection (CHAP). ​York Biotech Campus, Sand Hutton, York, YO41 1LZ

Richard.Glass@CHAP-solutions.co.uk

Tel: +44 (0) 786 679 9160

Roy Kennedy PhD

Roy Kennedy PhD

Publication Officer

Warwickshire College, Pershore College, Avon Bank, Pershore, Warwickshire, UK

rkennedy@warwickshire.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0) 300 456 0047

Matthew Back PhD

Matthew Back PhD

Programme Secretary

Crop and Environment Research Centre, Harper Adams University, Newport, Shropshire TF10 8NB.

MBack@harper-adams.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0) 195 281 5361

Jake Bishop PhD

Jake Bishop PhD

Early Career Scientist Champion

School of Agriculture, Policy and Development, University of Reading, Reading RG6 6UR

j.bishop@reading.ac.uk

Philippa Borrill PhD

Philippa Borrill PhD

Early Career Scientist Champion

School of Biosciences University of Birmingham, Edgbaston B15 2TT

p.borrill@bham.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0) 121 414 5567

AAB STAFF

Geraint Parry PhD

Geraint Parry PhD

Executive Officer

Alberto Vitale

Alberto Vitale

Finance and Office Manager

John Andrews PhD

John Andrews PhD

Conference Administrator

Bernadette Lawson

Bernadette Lawson

Financial Administrator

Carol Millman

Carol Millman

Annals of Applied Biology Editorial Office

AAB LAWS

RESPONSIBILITY

ANNUAL REPORTS